Yesterday and today I took time from writing to focus on reading. I waited months to get the next book in the series. Only to be disapointed. The book wasn’t terrible, it was not badly written. When reading several books by an author you come to expect more. Not just more but better with each book and when that does not happen you feel let down.  Kim Harrison is good writer and I read both series that she has created. One for adults and one for Young Adults. Both are urban fantasy and create a different idea of the “ware” “vampire” and “reaper” story lines.

So this brings me to my question for other authors how do you write a series and not have on in the middle that is a flop for your readers. How do you keep from writing the same story with different sences and characters book after book?

