At work, we are doing this health and wellness thing. Yeah it’s a thing. Why? I am not much of a joiner and these things either bore me or just anger me. To be fair the anger isn’t so much the program it’s the veiled threats and bribes to be part of it. Last year I refused to join. I did not feel that my job needed to know all of my medical issues. Yes last year they bribed us as well. It was 600.00 of the principal of our medical insurance for a year.  I wasn’t tempted because I knew that is when the threats were going to come.  I was wrong… or I should say I was two years early.  You see they are offering the program again this year but the bribe is bigger this time. $1000.00 off your yearly amount to pay for your insurance.

Nice right! Could be but there are strings, major ones.

  1. You still have to let the company know everything about you. From what you eat, to how you sleep, to how many times you blow your nose. Okay that last one was an exaggeration but that is what the health questionnaire felt like. Then they get to take blood for your cholesterol, and whatever other test they want to do, your height and weight, as well as your blood pressure.
  2. Now comes the threats if we don’t join they keep the amount we have to pay for our medical down. If we do not show improvement in our life, we will be removed from the plan and have to pay extra.

But, I digress. I didn’t mean to get on a rant. What I wanted to say right now they have a wellness challenge. It can be to help you improve your life, mentally or physically.  It’s called Change a habit change your life.  Here is how it is supposed to work.  For 30 days you do something you haven’t, something that you keep meaning to do.

So I thought about it. (I did not say the program was totally bad.)

My first thought – do 30 days as a vegetarian. Yeah, I don’t think so. I like meat so I think I would miss it too much.  Especially seafood, which is my favorite. Living on two different coasts gave me a taste of shellfish and other fish as well.  As for chicken and pork, they would be easier to let go but not completely.  Although, I think I am going to institute Meatless Thursday. (I know, normally its Monday but since I have class, I do not have time to stand over the stove and cypher a recipe.)

Then I thought something to do with fitness.  But I am already working on training for the 5k, I don’t want to overdo it. And I am already writing as much as time will let me.

So what to do? I thought it was a good idea and I didn’t want to give it up just yet.  I am going to try something simple.  And for a non-people person like me, it is huge.  Every day, I am going to introduce myself to someone new.  Maybe after that I can work on having a conversation with someone new every day, but for now this will work.

Hi I’m Fathom. Nice to meet you.

