One of the writing sites I am part of issues challenges. Sometimes when I am having issues with writers block or just need a change of pace from the normal stuff I work on, I pull one out of the plot bunnie folder and go to work.  As of yesterday, I started following plinky prompts. Their prompt today (Do you prefer sunrise or sunset) fit one of my challenges perfectly.   300 – 500 words and must include the following words.  Sunrise, Sunset, Pillow Talk, 20 questions, Campfire, and any alcoholic drink name.

Nope, I dont have a title for it yet… not even a working one. Isn’t that funny how it seems to be the case with all of my flash fiction. I guess its just something in the shortness of the stories that wont speak to me or tell me thier names.

“Do you prefer a sunrise or sunset?”

“Sunrise.”

“Why?”

“I don’t know.”

“How can you not know? I mean you chose sunrise, after all.”

Brenda sighed. She hated talking to him after sex. The twenty-question game was not what she would call pillow talk. The only thing to shut him up was more sex or getting up and leaving. Since it was her apartment, she had no intention of leaving and was just not in the mood for more sex.

Kyle’s fingers idly skimmed the exposed skin and felt the moment when she tensed. His hand stilled at the nape of her neck. “It was just a question.”

It was only a slight intake of breath but it was enough to set Kyle off. “What is your problem?”

“My problem? I don’t know maybe the stupid questions. Why can you just be like every other guy I know and roll over and pretend to go to sleep. Oh wait, that’s what you do to your wife.”

There were times when she wished there was a way of getting out of the bed without appearing to scramble. It was hard to look aloof on her hands and knees crawling across the bed.

“Stupid questions? I was trying to do that share thing you women are so big on.”

Standing there in the middle of the floor Brenda debated pulling the sheet off the bed to wrap around her and then decided a shirt would be better. It wasn’t a surprise he completely ignored the part about his wife. “This relationship was never about sharing. We were good in bed. I had one too many Jack and coke’s and you gave me this sad story about your wife.”

He ground his bottom teeth into the top in an effort to avoid saying something he knew he would regret. Which wasn’t made any easier with Brenda’s attitude. “Right now I am supposed to be sitting around a campfire with my wife and kids but I choose to be with you.”

Brenda snorted, “DO NOT act as if this was for me. This is your ego trip. I am not the one having sex with the secretary.”

By this time Kyle was completely dressed when her words stopped him cold. He didn’t kid himself it wasn’t love but he liked her well enough.  “Neither am I. You’re fired. You can pick up your things in the morning.”

Brenda stood in the middle of the floor and just watched as her boss and former lover stomped across the floor and heard the front door slam. “Awe hell why couldn’t I just say because its beautiful. Now I need to find another job.”

