You know sometimes life has a funny way of coming back and smacking you around for good measure. Sometimes just to see if you were listening the first time it knock you on your …well you know. Yep that is my story and I am sticking to it.

Last Wednesday, you know the day before Thanksgiving we were about to have a four day weekend and I was so looking forward to it. I mean I knew I was going to have a lot to do for one and probably half of another day but it was supposed to be about rest. Well I got the rest I was looking for kind of, the Vicodin made sure of that.

Why vicodin you ask… that would be the car wreck I had on my way to work Wednesday morning.  My poor, poor Subaru, I have been so hard on that piece of machinery.  Normally it is just curbs I roll over since I don’t judge distance too well.

So how does that tie into the world smacking me?  Truth it I am beginning to feel better. So I thought I would try to catch up on a few of the things I let go. One of them of course was writing. So obviously …not there was any doubt, I did not finish NaNoWriMo. But that was entirely my own fault and would have happened even without the accident.  So I started with something small… the Friday writing prompt from Writers Digest. Here is the prompt… do you see the irony?

While driving to pick up lunch, you accidentally bump into the car in front of you—a light fender bender—that pops open the other car’s trunk. When you get out to assess the damage, you notice that the driver of the other car is none other than your favorite actor. More important, you notice a dead body in the trunk. Who is the actor and what elaborate excuse does he give you to explain the dead body in his trunk?

I am working on it but right now every time I start to write all I can do is shake my head and think about my recent run in. Talk about life imitating art… this time art imitates life.

One of the write-in I participated in I overheard a conversation that I personally have given some thought to an wondered how many others who write… not just novels or short stories but blogs as well. A pen name?  There are some really good arguments on both sides of the topic.

